Aaaaaand here’s what you should have had!

#FullDisclosure!  Now, if you know me, you will know I don’t like change. For the last 2/3days I have been struggling to get this Blog out to you. I’ve written it, re written and rewritten it again, several times over, but the publishing website (I/we use and have done for 10 years) has wagged its internet bendy finger at me saying “No, no, noooooo! you must change from your usual mode of delivery unto, herewither and henceforth, new app’arge! The thing is, it took me about 2 years to get my tiny brain around the original, subject to updates …. ughhh I hate updates … you see what I mean 😕, I just don’t like it!

Anyways, I had to resort to squinting at the Og App on my phone. However, it’s means I’m flying blind and will have no idea what its going to look like until I post it! Fingers crossed (eyes, toes and everything else I can cross) I can finally put this out there. So, without further ado… here’s what you should have had.

Oh, and like they say on the tellybox, if you watching this on demand, chances are it’s no longer Friday so please don’t turn up at the Jam Hall tonight… as your vote won’t be counted but you may still be charged… and more importantly, you’ll be sat on your tod!

Everyday I’m Truffling

Good Morning ladies and welcome to Jam Day!

And boy have we got a treat for you this evening, but more about that later.

Our last meeting was about the business voting for a new president. You know a time to reflect, a time to consider, debate and vote on the proposed plan of moving forward, and other relevant matters…. Yeah right! We chose to keep our President (why not, she’s ace) and eat lots and lots (and in my case LOTS) of chocolate!

Of course there was more to it than that, we also got to play innuendo bingo, eat lots of cake, pressgang two new members on to the committee, vote on the Clean Rivers for Wild Swimmers Bill, and the small matter of awarding The Nightingale Star.

This years theme was “Everyday I’m Truffling” (which I can’t type, or even say, with out sparking that dreaded earworm of song in my head.. you know the one)

So what is the definition of a Chocolate Truffle? Well a Truffle is traditionally made with a chocolate ganache centre, coated in more chocolate, chocolate powder and often chocolate sprinkles or drizzles (so more chocolate then), sometimes with toasted nuts or coconut and usually produced in a ‘spherical, conical, or curved shape’ and quite often containing alcohol.

We, Myself, El Presidente Carly and Sarah tried, tested and deliberated giving up to 10 points for both appearance and uniformity, and up to 20 points for taste.

We had 11 participants in all with Mary coming 3rd, Charlie came joint 2nd … with herself, and Caroline coming in at 1st place – Well Done Caroline. Unfortunately Caroline couldn’t make it to Jam (how rude) that night – hence the sad face but Mary was there to take her back the good news. We love you really Caroline.

I would just like to take this opportunity to say a Massive Thank You to Becki who arranges year on year the engraving of, and safe keeping of (there is much debate as to whether or not this is on her mantle at home) the Nightingale trophy. It’s never looked so shiny and is a beautiful tribute to one of founder members Tracy-Anne who is sadly no longer with us. Thank You Bex.

As well as innuendo bingo, we had the usual raffle – again Mrs A, you have exceled yourself – who else would give us raffle prizes for the garden the meeting before we have the great garden plant swap pure genius. We also had a craft swap – giving all us ADHD crafters a chance to swap the ‘Hoards’ of crafting materials we’ve picked up (and put down again, usually after about 10 minuets) before deciding “its too difficult” and “I will watch a youtube video on that ONE DAY” for something we may actually like doing for longer than 10 minuets.

And as our re-elected President, Carly got to borrow, and bang quite loudly, Julie’s ‘Pay Attention I’m Talking’ Stick

Now as I said before, we also got to press gang 2 new members on to the committee. Many of you will already know them and we are very lucky to welcome them aboard the S.S. Jam. They are Sam HC and Melanie D

Lol, Ladies what have you let yourselves in for 😍

This brings me onto tonight’s Jam, are you coming? You really wouldn’t want to miss Stand up Comedian Pat Hall. She is amazing and I am in total Awe every time I meet her. She will be coming along this evening to entertain us with more of her amusing anecdotes and stories and well, just her general sideways take on life!

Other items on the agenda this evening will be Jam Camp, the Alrewas County Show and the Great Garden Plant Swap.

And obviously we have the usual goings on throughout the month to talk about too. We have Hookers 1&2, Jamanory Book Hub and there may be a little event going down called The Canterbury Tales starting, amongst others, Our very own El Presidente! This Monty Python style adaptation is sure to have everyone rolling in the aisles. And as if that’s not enough – the cost of administration includes a pie and peas supper !

Please see Facebook for more details

So why not come along this evening, I guarantee you won’t regret it. You know the place St. John’s the Evangelist’s Church, Loomer Road, Chesterton. ST5 7JS…

And you also know the time too, 7.15 pm for a 7.30 start.

So until then…

                       ….Stay Jammy

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑