I Love … February ❤️

Hello Jammers,  I hope you are all well and looking forward to tonight’s Let’s Make Jam “Bringing Sexy Back” meeting this evening. Unfortunately I can’t make it tonight, but I will be there in spirit with you.

I love Jam ❤️, the awesome people, the awesome cake, and I absolutely love the idea of kicking back with a brew and switching for off for a couple of hours. I love meeting up with new friends too, travelling and … oh yes, Cake.

This weekend past, I got to up meet Alice Hawkins in Leicester. I’ve never met her before and have been looking forward to meeting her for several years now, but like the rest of the world’s plans, mine too were put on hold for a while. 

In fact this particular trip to Leicester had been pushed back no less than four other times. This was the fifth, and thank goodness, final time we had arranged this particular trip to see my eldest daughter Amelia (some of you may have met her at LMJ meetings in the past)

Anyway, whilst there, my plan was to kill two birds with one stone and look up the inspirational, yet not so well  known Alice Hawkins on what turned out to be (practically) her 5th anniversary. A 7-foot-tall, 800-pound bronze statue of Alice, who was created by sculptor Sean Hedges-Quinn.

She stands on a 4-foot granite plinth – as she should and was erected near to the spot she would have stood when she addressed the public on the topic of women’s suffrage.

It shows her ‘passionately’ speaking, while gesturing, and was the first statue of “it’s type” (lone statue of a woman) in Leicester. The statue itself costed around £62,400 and shows Alice wearing her lace-up boots  (probably made at the Equity shoe factory where she worked) a long skirt and a wide-brimmed hat. She is shown in a confident pose, with her right arm half-raised, a ‘Votes for Women’ sash across her chest and her rolled-up speech in her left hand.

She is proudly wearing her Hunger Strike Medal and, at her throat, a Holloway Brooch – designed by Sylvia Pankhurst and awarded to members of the Women’s Social and Political Union who had been imprisoned for the cause.


The statue was unveiled on 4 February 2018, 5 years ago, in Green Dragon Market Square, in a ceremony attended by thousands of people, including some of Alice’s relatives. The Statue was unveiled by Alice’s great great-granddaughter Kate Barratt, health campaigner Alice Gibbs, and Liz Kendall MP.

The statue is dedicated not only to Alice but also to all women who have fought for women’s rights in any way.

So there we go, just another totally Awesome Woman. Nice to finally meet you Alice and Thank You

Are We Nearly Zen Yet ?

I know I say it Every Single Month … but what a Fabulously Fantastically super talented bunch of babes we all are! Walking around the hall at last months Jam I was totally blown away!

What a simple yet really effective way of clearing your mind and producing some beautiful pieces of mindful art. I think I’ve come to the conclusion that I love Zentangling ❤️.

Incase You Missed It…

Yes, just incase you did miss it, there have been a few changes to the schedule this month!

There’s extra Hookers and a new time slot for Jamanory as well as 2 new Book Lists! The first list was revealed at the beginning of this month and the second will be revealed at the start of next month in March. We have also changed the date from the first Monday after Jam (Oh, I love Jam Night ❤️!) To the last Tuesday of the month.

I also have a confession to make regarding the 2023 Book List. I did say we were going to kick off the list with WE ALL WANT IMPOSSIBLE THINGS BY CATHERINE NEWMAN, however, this is still only available in hardback so is a costly read! We tend to shun these books and send them to the back of the queue until they can see sense, and are ready to come out to play wearing something less formal like a paper jacket!

So if you have already bought it in hard back I can only apologise (Sorry Ness)! I’m going to suggest we skip over this one for the moment and go straight to MIKE GAYLE’S THE MAN I THINK I KNOW. I know a lot of you have already read it following on from his appearance on a previous list and for those who haven’t yet, it’s possibly much more achievable in the time we have left until the next Jamanory meet up on the 28th!

Again I’m very sorry for all or any inconvenience caused!
If, however, you are in the middle of We All Want… and want to continue on with it, that’s also, of course fine and at worst we’ll discuss them both if necessary! I love the Jamanory Book Hub ❤️.

So now on to Hookers, I love… no that sounds wrong 😳 I’ll re think that one! Hookers has not moved but rather has added a new date this month.

Hookers are currently still meeting on the 1st Thursday of the month but at the moment the location has changed to Westbury Tavern, and the extra date is the second Wednesday of the month at Brindley Farm.

However, this may also be at Westbury Tavern this month depending on whether or not they have finished their renovations – PLEASE SEE SOCIAL MEDIA FOR ALL UP TO DATE NOTIFICATIONS

I love all things Woolly ❤️… yes that works better!

Tonight

So that brings me on to tonight’s meeting Bringing Sexy Back!

Now there is no pressure to take part tonight so please don’t stay away if you’re worried we’ll make you join in. We love you all and would still love to see you ❤️.


However, if you are planning to take part please wear something comfortable that you can easily move in.

So you know the drill by now, in the usual place, St John’s the Evangelist’s Church, Loomer Rd, Chesterton. ST5 7JS –  Usual time of 7.15 pm!

We’d love to see you ❤️, so until then… stay lovely and stay…

Jammy!

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑